Bone Art
Thursday, Nov. 10, 2005 8:33 PM
Hey there,
Wanted to share this. Think about it a lot. It's from a true friend. She gave one to each me and Boomer. It's an awesome show of friendship. Suprised me when I got them in the mail. All the way from down there. WOW. So cool. Got to share Boomers with him this last time we met. Here is a picture.

She sent a short letter with it but a long email that explained them. Here is a highlight.

Every carving has a very special meaning or story behind its design.

The carvings based on Maori designs in particular have special significance. The pre-European Maori had no written language so tribal history and the stories of the gods were kept using many forms of fine arts and crafts ranging from basket and cloth weaving to complex wood, bone, shell and jade carving. These artifacts were then handed down through generations of tribal elders and became sacred objects or treasures "Taonga", telling the history of a tribe and taking on the spirits of past great leaders and warriors who had worn them.

It is believed that a carving which is worn with respect or given and received with love, takes on part of the spirit of those who wear or handle it. In this way it becomes a spiritual link between people spanning time and distance.

I've been wanting to post about this for a while. I love my fish hook has a lot of meaning behind it. One I'll never forget. If you want to read more about these works of art go here ----> BONE ART !!! Amazing the friends you make along the way.

Just realized I've been writing this diary for a little more than a year now. Damn time flies. September 4th 2004 was my first entry. At first I thought what the hell would I have to say or talk about. 114 entries later I'm still writing. LOL NO one has told me to shut up yet. LOL go figure. A lot has happened in one year. Many ups and many downs. The ups totally out weight the downs. I can't bitch. Well that's a lie you know I can. :-)

Guess what??? I got a message left on my answering machine this afternoon. I have an interview at the job I applied for. Man it made my heart skip a beat when I heard it. Now I'm nervous. I'm not a good liar and have to come up with something to get out of work for an hour interview. LOL we'll see, maybe I'll just take a half day vacation.

Had a great talk with kstyle last night. Boomer went to bed early, he had a long day and was beat. We shared pictures. He thought we were so cute. HEHEHEHE We had a lot of fun. I miss that and we haven't talked for a long ass time. It was good to catch up. Talk a little bit about the future. :-) Both look bright and sunny.

Talked with flying-kiwi last night and the night before. She shared a lot of pictures. So much fun. Cool how people share. Sharing is good.

Called my friend that started treatments monday. He sounded great. I was glad to hear that. Glad to hear his voice that is set to conquer this one day at a time. If anyone can do it he can.

The last two mornings on the way to work I've seen a big buck. One day with a doe. Amazing how the are right along the highway seeming to be carefree with the morning commuters driving by. The were right south of home. Bow season had started the previous weekend so maybe they are riled a bit.

Enough for tonight. Thanks for listening. Take care !!!

Hugs,
SW

Please Let Me Know What You Think. Click Here --> 1 comments so far


<--- previous entry ~ current entry ~ next entry --->






Past Few Pages:

My Dear Friend - Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2009 - 1:10 AM

Still Jobless!!! - Sunday, Jan. 11, 2009 - 11:52 PM

Happy New Year 2009 - Thursday, Jan. 01, 2009 - 1:38 AM

Merry Christmas 2008 - Thursday, Dec. 25, 2008 - 8:08 PM

Update. ;-) - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008 - 12:47 PM


Click for Bedford, Iowa Forecast


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com